By Roundoffnews.

A universal dictum says, good people are like the lightening of thunder which cannot go unnoticed.

This perhaps may have necessitated the leadership of the Nigeria Union of Journalists NUJ Ekiti State Council to have bestowed an award of excellence on some notable personalities whose activities have impacted meaningfully on the society.

The awardees include the CPS to Ekiti State Governor, Hon. Yinka Oyebode, former NUJ chairman and SSA to the speaker of the Ekiti state House of Assembly, Akogun Tai Oguntayo, Ekiti state commissioner of police Amba Asuquo, Aare Afe Babalola and the chairman Ekiti state Council of Obas, Oba Adebanji Alabi, First elected Chairman of NUJ Ekiti State, Lani Baderinwa and first National secretary of NUJ  Jola Ogunlusi.

Others include, DG Council of Art and Culture Ekiti State, Wale Ojo-lanre, The Founder and Executive Director of The New Generation Girls and Women Development Initiative (NIGAWD) Abimbola Aladejare and correspondent of channels TV in Ekiti state Godwin Osubu.

The award was presented to the awardees on Friday during a special dinner party organized to commemorate the annual press week of NUJ Ekiti State Council.

The programme which was presided over by the wife of Ekiti State Governor,Erelu Bisi Fayemi had in attendance various dignitaries from all works of life.

Speaking on the occasion, the chairman of NUJ Ekiti Council, Comrade Rotimi Ojomoyela said the award was in recognition of the selfless services of the awardees to human and national development.

Performing the official presentation of the plaque to the awardees, Erelu Bisi Fayemi congratulated them and called on journalists to be objective and use their platforms to promote peace and national development.

In their separate remarks, the awardees expressed happiness over the recognition which they said would propel them to do more.